Skip Navigation

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - Office of Minority HealthU.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Office of Minority Health

National Partnership for Action

Contact us Print Page
 

Federal Interagency Health Equity Team

FIHET logo

Federal leadership for the National Partnership for Action is provided by the Federal Interagency Health Equity Team (FIHET).

Vision

We envision a thriving America where all people have equitable access to resources and supportive environments to live healthy, purposeful lives.

Mission

We convene federal leaders to end health disparities by building capacity for equitable policies and programs, cultivating strategic partnerships, and sharing relevant models for action.

Goals

  1. Collaborate with diverse federal agencies to define linkages between their missions and health equity.
  2. Identify, develop, and implement strategies to achieve health equity through federal policies, programs, and activities.
  3. Leverage assets, influence, and experiences of federal agencies, partners, and communities to promote health equity.
  4. Create opportunities to generate, facilitate, and translate research, data, and emerging knowledge about health equity into practice and policy.
  5. Educate and mentor peers to develop equity champions within all federal agencies.

Federal Interagency Health Equity Team Members

NPA Webinar header - link to Webinar details
Onyemaechi Nweke, DrPH, MPH; FIHET Co-Chair
Office of Environmental Justice
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20460
(202) 566-2314
nweke.onyemaechi@epa.gov

Carol S. Jimenez; FIHET Co-Chair
Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
U.S. Department of Health and Human Service
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-6162
Carol.Jimenez@hhs.gov

National Institutes of Health

Diane Adger-Johnson
Minority Health Program Manager
Office of Special Populations and Research Training
Division of Extramural Activities
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
6700-B Rockledge Drive, MSC 7610
Bethesda, MD 20892-7610
(240) 669-2924
dadger@niaid.nih.gov

Jessica B. Bellinger, PhD
National Institutes of Health
Center for Scientific Review
Building Two Rockledge Center
6701 Rockledge Drive, Room 3158
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 435-0000
Jessica.Bellinger@nih.gov

Pamela Y. Collins, MD, MPH
Director
Office for Research on Disparities & Global Mental Health
Office of Rural Mental Health Research
National Institute of Mental Health, NIH
6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 8125
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 443-2847
pamela.collins@nih.gov

Rosaly Correa-de-Araujo, MD, MSc, PhD
Senior Scientific Advisor to the Director
Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology,
National Institute on Aging
National Institutes of Health
7201 Wisconsin Avenue, Room 3C307
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-6762
rosaly.correa-de-araujo@nih.gov

Carl V. Hill, PhD, MPH
Director
Office of Special Populations
National Institute on Aging
31 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-0765
Hillcv@mail.nih.gov

Regina Smith James, MD
Medical Officer
Eunice Kennedy Shriver
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
6100 Executive Boulevard, MSC 3902
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 435-2692
rjames@mail.nih.gov

Charlene Le Fauve
Deputy Director, ORDGMH
National Institute of Mental Health
National Institutes of Health
6001 Executive Boulevard
Rockville, MD 20852
(301) 435-4582
charlene.lefauve@nih.gov

Carmen P. Moten, PhD, MPH
Health Sciences Administrator
National Cancer Institute
9609 Medical Center Drive, MSC 9746
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-8589
cmoten@mail.nih.gov

Martina Vogel Taylor, MT (ASCP)
Senior Prevention Science Advisor
Office of the Director
Division of Cancer Control
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
9609 Medical Center Drive
Room 5E-430, MSC 9784,
Bethesda, MD 20892-9784
(240) 276-7067
vogelm@mail.nih.gov

Della Brown White, PhD
Health Scientist Administrator
Division of Special Populations
Eunice Kennedy Shriver
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
6100 Executive Boulevard, Suite 5E03
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 435-2712
whitede@mail.nih.gov


U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

Nychelle (Nikki) Fleming
Public Affairs Specialist
Team Lead, Safe Sleep Outreach & Education
4330 East West Highway, Suite 519
Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 504-7063
nfleming@cpsc.gov

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Jerold Mande, MPH
Senior Advisor to the Under Secretary
Food, Nutrition and Consumer Services
1400 Independence Avenue, SW, Suite 216E
Washington, DC 20250-0115
Phone: (202) 720-7711
Jerold.Mande@osec.usda.gov

Autumn McCain, MPP
Program Analyst, State Administration Branch
Program Accountability and Administration Division
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
Food and Nutrition Service
3101 Park Center Drive
Alexandria, VA 22302
(703) 305-2472
Autumn.McCain@fns.usda.gov

Anika Patterson, JD, MPA
Equal Employment Opportunity Specialist
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights
Whitten Building, 1400 Independence Avenue, Room 212-A
Washington, DC 20250-0115
Phone: (202) 306-1062
Anika.Patterson@ascr.usda.gov

Audrey Rowe
Administrator
Food and Nutrition Service
3101 Park Center Drive
Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone: (703) 305-2062
Audrey.Rowe@fns.usda.gov

Bonita Williams, PhD
National Program Leader, Division of Youth and 4-H
National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Waterfront Centre, 800 9th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20024
(202) 720-3566
bwilliams@nifa.usda.gov


U.S. Department of Commerce

Jennifer Cheeseman Day, PhD
Assistant Division Chief
Social, Economic and Housing Statistics Division
U.S. Census Bureau
1401 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20233-8500
(301) 763-3399
jennifer.cheeseman.day@census.gov


U.S. Department of Defense

Wilbur W. Malloy, MA, MLS(ASCP)SBB
Health Science Program Manager
Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine
Telemedicine and Advanced Technology Research Center
U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command
Fort Detrick, MD 21702-5012
(301) 619-8136
wilbur.w.malloy.civ@mail.mil


U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Administration for Children and Families

Mia Bailey
Program Management Analyst
DHHS-Administration for Children and Families
Office of Regional Operations
330 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 401-5238
mia.bailey@acf.hhs.gov


Administration for Community Living

Constance Pledger, EdD
Executive Director, ICDR
National Institute on Disability, Independent Living and Rehabilitation Research
Administration for Community Living
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
330 C Street, SW, Room 1304
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 795-7421
constance.pledger@acl.hhs.gov

Administration for Community Living; Office of External Affairs

Dianne A. Freeman
Aging Services Program Specialist
Administration for Community Living
Office of External Affairs
One Massachusetts Avenue, NW
5 Floor, Room 5405
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 357-3536
Dianne.Freeman@acl.hhs.gov


Center for Faith Based and Neighborhood Partnerships

Sylvia Griffin
Assistant to the Director
Center for Faith-based and Neighborhood Partnerships
Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 358-3597
Sylvia.Griffin@hhs.gov


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Virginia S. Cain, PhD
Health Scientist
National Center for Health Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
3311 Toledo Road, Room 7208
Hyattsville, MD 20782
(301) 458-4395
vxc6@cdc.gov

Robert Hahn, PhD, MPH
Coordinating Scientist
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
1600 Clifton Road, NE, Mailstop E-69
Atlanta, GA 30333
Office: (404) 498-0958
Fax: (404) 248-4238
rah1@cdc.gov

Leandris C. Liburd, PhD, MPH
Director
Office of Minority Health and Health Equity,
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
1600 Clifton Road, NE, Mailstop E-67
Atlanta, GA 30333
(770) 488-8343
lel1@cdc.gov

George W. Roberts, PhD
Behavioral Scientist
Office of Minority Health and Health Equity
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
KOGR Bldg COLUM Rm 1096, MS K77
Atlanta, GA 30341
Office: (770) 488-8004
Mobile: (404) 271-2658
gwr2@cdc.gov


Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Administration

Denesecia P. Green
Senior Health Insurance Specialist
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Office of Enterprise Management
S2-24-22; Mail Stop S2-26-17
Baltimore, MD 21244-1850
(410) 786-8797
denesecia.green@cms.hhs.gov

Cara V. James, PhD
Director
Office of Minority Health
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Office of the Secretary
7500 Security Boulevard, S2-12-17
Baltimore, MD 21244
(410) 786-2773
Cara.James@cms.hhs.gov


Food and Drug Administration

Jonca Bull, MD
Director, Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
Food and Drug Administration
10903 New Hampshire Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20993
(301) 796-8000
jonca.Bull@fda.hhs.gov

Mary C. Hitch
Senior Policy Advisor
Office of the Commissioner
Food and Drug Administration
10903 New Hampshire Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20903
(301) 796-8639
mary.hitch@fda.hhs.gov

Christine Merenda
Director Health Pro
Office of the Commissioner
Food and Drug Administration
Building WO32, Room 2382; Mail Stop HF-12
10903 New Hampshire Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20993-0002
(301) 796-8453
Christine.merenda@fda.hhs.gov


Health Resources and Services Administration

Makeda H. Clement, MS, MBA
Health Resources and Services Administration
Parklawn Building
5600 Fishers Lane, Room 17w41
Rockville, MD 20857
(301) 443-6977
MClement@hrsa.gov

Christine Ramey, MBA, BSN, RN
Deputy Director Office of Health Equity
Health Resources and Services Administration
5600 Fishers Lane, MS 12-70
Rockville, MD 20857
(301) 443-3238
cramey@hrsa.gov


Indian Health Service

Wilbur Woodis
Senior Policy Analyst for External Affairs
Indian Health Service
801 Thompson Avenue
Rockville, MD 20852
(301) 443-1676
Wilbur.woodis@ihs.gov


Office of Adolescent Health

Sabrina Chapple
Public Health Advisor
Office of Adolescent Health
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
1101 Wootton Parkway
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-2808
Sabrina.chapple@hhs.gov

Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion

Carter R. Blakey
Senior Public Health Advisor
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-8254
carter.blakey@hhs.gov


Office of Minority Health

J. Nadine Gracia, MD, MSCE
Deputy Assistant Secretary
Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-2882
Nadine.Gracia@hhs.gov

Christine (Huong) Montgomery
Management and Program Analyst
Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-6176
christine.montgomery@hhs.gov

Minh Wendt, PhD
Public Health Analyst
Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
1101 Wootton Pkwy, Suite 600
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-6160
minh.wendt@hhs.gov

Stacey L. Williams
Public Health Analyst
Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-6152
Stacey.Williams@hhs.gov


OS/Office for Civil Rights

Cezar Lopez
Senior Advisor
Office of the Secretary
Office for Civil Rights
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Suite 515E
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 619-1002
Cezar.lopez@hhs.gov

Donnamarie Spencer, MS
Lieutenant, US Public Health Service
Office of Civil Rights
Department of Health and Human Services
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
202-619-2595
Donnamarie.Spencer@hhs.gov


OS/Office of the General Counsel

JoAn Rochez
Senior Attorney
Office of the General Counsel
1600 Clifton Road, NE
Atlanta, GA 30333
(404) 639-7207
joan.rochez@hhs.gov


OS/Office of the National Coordinator

David Hunt, MD
Medical Officer
Office of Provider Adoption Support
Office of the National Coordinator
330 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 205-5105
davidr.hunt@hhs.gov


Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology

Sherilyn Pruitt
Director, Office of Programs and Engagement
Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 774-2316
sherilyn.pruitt@hhs.gov

OS/Office of the Surgeon General

Shavon L. Arline-Bradley, MPH
Director of External Engagement
Office of the Surgeon General, OASH
200 Independence Ave SW, Suite
701H Washington, DC 20201
(202) 401-7529
shavon.arline-bradley@hhs.gov


Office on Women's Health

Adrienne M. Smith, PhD, MS, CHES
Public Health Advisor
Office of Women's Health
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 728F
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 690-5884
adrienne.smith@hhs.gov


Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

Roslyn Holliday Moore
Public Health Advisor
Office of Policy, Planning and Innovation
Center for Mental Health Services
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 8-1056
Rockville, MD 20857
(240) 276-1825
roslynholliday.moore@samhsa.hhs.gov

Larke Nahme Huang, PhD
Senior Advisor on Children
Office of Policy, Planning & Innovation
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
One Choke Cherry Drive,  Room 8-1051
Rockville, MD  20857
(240) 276-2000
larke.huang@samhsa.hhs.gov


U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Veronica E. Helms, PhD
Social Science Analyst, Presidential Management Fellow 2014
Office of Policy Development and Research; Program Monitoring and Research Division
451 7th Street Southwest
Washington DC 20410
(202) 402-4194
Veronica.E.Helms@hud.gov

Carol B. Payne, RN, MSN
Field Office Director, Baltimore Office of HUD
U.S. Department of Housing
10 South Howard Street, 5th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 209-6573
carol.b.payne@hud.gov


U.S. Department of Justice

Deeana Jang
Chief
Federal Coordination and Compliance Section
Civil Rights Division
U.S. Department of Justice
950 Pennsylvania Avenue NW - NWB
Washington, DC 20530
(202) 307-2222
deeana.jang@usdoj.gov

U.S. Department of Labor

Carrol Bascus JD, MHA
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Policy
200 Constitution Avenue
Washington, DC 20210
(202) 693-5907
Bascus.carrol@dol.gov


U.S. Department of Transportation

Danielle Nelson
Health and Transportation Program Specialist
U.S. Department of Transportation
Rural and Targeted Programs
Federal Transit Administration
East Building, E44-409
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
(202) 366-2160
Danielle.Nelson@dot.gov

Alexander W. (Sandy) Sinclair
Program Manager
U.S. Department of Transportation/NHTSA
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
(202) 366-2723
Sandy.Sinclair@dot.gov


U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Earl Newsome III
Deputy Director
Center for Minority Veterans
810 Vermont Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20420
(202) 461-6191
earl.newsome@va.gov

Uchenna Uchendu, MD
Chief Health Equity Officer
Office of Health Equity
Veterans Health Administration
810 Vermont Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20420
uchenna.uchendu2@va.gov

Barbara Ward
Director
Center for Minority Veterans
Department of Veterans Affairs
810 Vermont Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20420
(202) 461-6191; (202) 273-7092 (fax)
Barbara.Ward@va.gov



Last Modified: 5/17/2016 3:56:00 PM