Skip Navigation

U.S. Department of Health & Human Serviceswww.hhs.gov
 
National Partnership for Action to End Health Disparities
 
NPA HomeNPA PartnersNPA Federal TeamRegional Health Equity Councils

Federal Interagency Health Equity Team

FIHET Webinar Series
To support the integration of health equity in programs, policies and practices, the FIHET will be hosting a regular speaker webinar series, 'Promoting Health Equity Through Programs and Policies' to create a collaborative and learning environment to highlight current practices and innovative strategies for this type of work across sectors and at different levels of government.
Learn more
Federal leadership for the National Partnership for Action is provided by the Federal Interagency Health Equity Team (FIHET).

Vision
Attain highest level of health for racial and ethnic minorities and underserved populations.

Mission
Foster communications and activities of the NPA within federal agencies and their partners; and, to increase the efficiency and effectiveness of policies and programs at the national, date, tribal, and local levels that work to end health disparities.

Goals
FIHET members advance the objectives of the NPA based on its goals to:
  1. Unite around a national message
  2. Collaborate around common goals
  3. Leverage assets and experiences of partners
  4. Identify opportunities for agency collaborations, partnerships, and communications that directly or indirectly impact NPA outcomes
  5. Contribute to the NPA Regional Conversations, National Blueprint, and national efforts focused on the elimination of health disparities
  6. Promote Federal participation in community strategies to end health disparities
  7. Create opportunities to more systematically transition evidence-based findings to the field and expeditiously move them to practice and policy
  8. Collaborate on guidance for community-level health disparities programs as a means for improving cohesion, implementation, and outcomes of programs funded by Federal agencies
  9. Increase proactive use of technology in programs, services, and ancillary activities that address health disparities

Federal Interagency Health Equity Team (FIHET) – May, 2013

Cdr. Jacqueline Rodrigue, FIHET Co-Chair;
Deputy Director
Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
U.S. Department of Health and Human Service
(240) 453-6162
Jacqueline.Rodrigue@hhs.gov


Onyemaechi Nweke, DrPH, MPH; FIHET Co-Chair;
NPA Lead for the Office of Minority Health
Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
U.S. Department of Health and Human Service
(240) 453-6165
Onyemaechi.Nweke@hhs.gov

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

Nychelle (Nikki) Fleming
Public Affairs Specialist
Team Lead, Safe Sleep Outreach & Education
4330 East West Hwy, Suite 519
Bethesda, Maryland 20814
(301) 504-7063
nfleming@cpsc.gov

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Jane M. Clary
National Program Leader
Division of Nutrition; Institute of Food Safety and Nutrition
800 9th St., SW,
Washington, DC 20024
(202) 720-3891
jclary@nifa.usda.gov

Autumn McCain, MPP
Program Analyst, State Administration Branch
Program Accountability and Administration Divison
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
Food and Nutrition Service
3101 Park Center Drive
Alexandria, Virginia 22302
(703)-305-2472
Autumn.McCain@fns.usda.gov

Anika Patterson, JD, MPA
Equal Employment Opportunity Specialist
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights
Room 212-A, Whitten Building
1400 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20250-0115
Phone: (202) 306-1062
Anika.Patterson@ascr.usda.gov

Jerold Mande, MPH
Senior Advisor to the Under Secretary
Food, Nutrition and Consumer Services
1400 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Suite 216E
Washington, D.C. 20250-0115
Phone: (202)720 - 7711
jerold.mande@osec.usda.gov

Bonita Williams, PhD
National Program Leader, Division of Youth and 4-H
National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Waterfront Centre, 800 9th St. SW
Washington, D.C. 20024
Phone: (202) 720-3566
bwilliams@nifa.usda.gov

Audrey Rowe
Administrator
Food and Nutrition Service
3101 Park Center Drive
Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone: (703) 305-2062
Audrey.Rowe@fns.usda.gov

Dionne Toombs, PhD
National Program Leader
Community Food and Nutrition
Competitive Programs, CSREES
800 Ninth Street, SW
Waterfront Centre, Room 2416
Washington, DC 20024
(202) 401-2138
dtoombs@nifa.usda.gov


U.S. Department of Commerce

Jennifer Cheeseman Day, PhD
Assistant Division Chief
Social, Economic and Housing Statistics Division
U.S. Census Bureau
1401 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20233-8500
(301) 763-3399
jday@census.gov

Maureen A. Lewis
Director, Minority Telecommunications
Development Program, Room 4720
1401 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20230
(202)482-1892 (phone)
mlewis@ntia.doc.gov

U.S. Department of Defense

Wilbur Malloy
IPA, Program Manager
Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine
Telemedicine and Advanced Technology Research Center
U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command
Fort Detrick, MD 21702-5012
(301) 619-8136
wilbur.malloy@tatrc.org


U.S. Department of Education

Constance Pledger, EdD
Executive Director, ICDR
National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, SERS
550 12th Street, SW, Room 6039
Washington, DC 20202
(202) 245-7480
connie.pledger@ed.gov


U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Carol Payne, RN, MSN
Field Office Director, Baltimore Office of HUD
Baltimore Office of HUD
Ten South Howard Street, 5th Floor
Baltimore MD 21201
(410) 209-6573
carol.b.payne@hud.gov

U.S. Department of Justice

Deeana Jang
Chief
Federal Coordination and Compliance Section
Civil Rights Division
U.S. Department of Justice
950 Pennsylvania Avenue NW - NWB
Washington, DC 20530
(202) 307-2222
deeana.jang@usdoj.gov

U.S. Department of Labor

Carrol Bascus JD, MHA
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Policy
(202) 693-5907
Bascus.carrol@dol.gov

U.S. Department of Transportation

Alexander W. (Sandy) Sinclair
Highway Safety Specialist
Occupant Protection Division, NT1-112
NIST
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
(202) 366-2723
Sandy.Sinclair@dot.gov

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Barbara Ward
Director, Center for Minority Veterans
810 Vermont Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20420
(202) 461-6191
Barbara.Ward@va.gov

Lisa Red
Director of Cultural Competency and Communication,
VHA Office of Health Equity
810 Vermont Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20420
(405) 651-3299
lisa.red@va.gov

Uchenna Uchendu, MD
Chief Officer
VHA Office for Health Equity
810 Vermont Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20420
uchenna.uchendu2@va.gov

Earl Newsome, III
Deputy Director, Center for Minority Veterans
810 Vermont Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20420
(202) 461-6191
earl.newsome@va.gov

Kennita R. Carter, M.D.
VA Maryland Health Care System
Managed Care Clinical Center (BT101/MC)
10 North Greene Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 605-7650
kennita.carter@va.gov

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services


Administration for Children and Families

Mia Bailey
Program Management Analyst
DHHS-Administration for Children and Families
Office of Regional Operations
901 D Street, SW
Washington, DC 20447
(202) 401-5238


Crystal Peeler
Office of Child Support Enforcement
Division of Policy
370 L'Enfant Promenade, SW
Washington, DC 20447
202-401-1381
crystal.peeler@acf.hhs.gov

Administration for Community Living Center for Disability and Aging Policy

Rosaly Correa-de-Araujo, MD, MSc, PhD
Senior Scientific Policy Advisor
One Massachusetts Avenue, NW
4th Floor, Room 4009
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 357-3421
rosaly.correa@hhs.gov

Administration for Community Living Office of External Affairs

Dianne Freeman
Aging Services Program Specialist
One Massachusetts Avenue, NW
5 Floor, Room 5405
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 357-3536
dianne.freeman@aoa.hhs.gov

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Francis D. Chesley, Jr., MD
Director, Office of Extramural Research,
Education and Priority Populations
540 Gaither Road, Room 2034
Rockville, MD 20850
(301) 427-1521
francis.chesley@ahrq.hhs.gov

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Leandris C. Liburd, PhD, MPH
Director
Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (Proposed)
Office of the Secretary
1600 Clifton Rd, NE, Mailstop E-67
Atlanta, GA 30333
(404)-498-2320
lel1@cdc.gov

Virginia S. Cain, PhD
Director of Extramural Research
National Center for Health Statistics
3311 Toledo Road Room 7208
Hyattsville, MD 20782
(301) 458-4395
virginia.cain@cdc.hhs.gov

Camara Phyllis Jones, MD, MPH, PhD
Research Director on Social Determinants of Health and Equity
Division of Epidemiology and Analytic Methods
Office on Surveillance, Epidemiology, and Laboratory Services
1600 Clifton Rd, NE, Mailstop E-67
(404) 498-1128
camara.jones@cdc.hhs.gov

George W. Roberts, Ph.D.
Senior Advisor for Health Equity
Office of the Associate Director for Program
1600 Clifton Road, NE MS-D37
Atlanta, GA 30333
(404) 639-2892
george.roberts@cdc.hhs.gov

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Administration

Susan Fleck, RN, MMHS
Government Task Leader
CMS Health Disparities Program
Division of Quality Improvement
JFK Federal Building Rm 2350
Government Center
Boston, MA 02203
(617) 565-1305
SFleck@cms.hhs.gov

Cara V. James, PhD
Director
Office of Minority Health Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Office of the Secretary
7500 Security Boulevard
Baltimore, MD 21244
(410) 786-6842
Cara.James@cms.hhs.gov

Nicole Hewitt, PhD
Social Scientist
Office of Minority Health Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Office of the Secretary
7500 Security Boulevard
Baltimore, MD 21244
(410) 786-0164
Nicole.Hewitt@cms.hhs.gov

Food and Drug Administration

Mary C. Hitch
Senior Policy Advisor
Office of External Relations
10903 New Hampshire Avenue
Silver Spring, MD 20903
(301) 796-8639
mary.hitch@fda.hhs.gov


Jonca Bull, MD
Director, Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
Food and Drug Administration
10903 New Hampshire Avenue.
Silver Spring, MD 20993
(301) 796-4649
jonca.Bull@fda.hhs.gov


Gem P. Daus, MA
Public Health Analyst
Office of Special Health Affairs; Office of Health Equity
Parklawn Building – Room 12-70
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, Maryland 20857
(301) 443-2462
gdaus@hrsa.gov

Indian Health Service

Alan Trachtenberg, MD, MPH,
IHS Research Director
801 Thompson Ave TMP 450
Rockville, MD 20852
(301) 443-0578
atrachte@hqe.ihs.gov

National Institutes of Health

Diane Adger-Johnson
Minority Health Program Manager
Office of Special Populations and Research Training
Division of Extramural Activities
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
6700-B Rockledge Drive, Room 2150
Bethesda, MD  20892-7610
(301) 402-8969
dadger@niaid.nih.gov

Pamela Y. Collins, MD, MPH
Director, Office for Research on Disparities & Global Mental Health
Director, Office of Rural Mental Health Research
National Institute of Mental Health/NIH
6001 Executive Blvd, Room 8125
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 443-2847
pamela.collins@nih.hhs.gov

Paul A. Cotton, PhD, RD
Program Director
Health Behavior and Minority Health
Division of Extramural Activities
National Institute of Nursing Research
6701 Democracy Boulevard, Suite 710
One Democracy Plaza
Bethesda, MD 20892-4870
(301) 402-6423
paul.cotton@nih.hhs.gov

Robert A. Mays, Jr., PhD
Chief, Office of Rural Mental Health Research
National Institute of Mental Health
6001 Executive Blvd, Room 8128
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 443-2847
robert.mays@nih.hhs.gov

Barbara E. Moquin, Ph.D., APRN, BC-P
Health Science Administrator (Detail)
Center for the Clinical Trails Network
6001 Executive Blvd, Rm 3131
Bethesda, MD 20892-9557
(301) 496-9004
moquinb@mail.nih.gov

Irene Dankwa-Mullan MD, MPH
Director, Office of Innovation and Program Coordination
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities, National Institutes of Health
6707 Democracy Blvd. Suite 800
Bethesda, MD 20892-5465
(301) 594-8758
dankwamullani@mail.nih.gov

Patrice Desvigne-Nickens, MD
Program Director
Heart Failure and Arrhythmias Branch
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute
6701 Rockledge Drive, Room 8044
Bethesda, MD 20892-4870
(301) 435-0504
patrice.desvignenickens@nih.hhs.gov

Regina Smith James, MD
Acting Director, Division of Special Populations
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
6100 Executive Boulevard, Suite 5E03
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 435-2692
regina.james@nih.hhs.gov

Carmen P. Moten, PhD, MPH
Program Director, Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities,
National Cancer Institute
6116 Executive Blvd, Suite 602, MSC 8341
Rockville, Maryland 20852-8341
(301) 496-8589
cmoten@mail.nih.gov

LeShawndra N. Price, Ph.D.
Deputy Director for Research
Office for Research on Disparities & Global Mental Health
Chief, Mental Health Disparities
National Institute of Mental Health
National Institutes of Health
6001 Executive Blvd., Rm. 8130, MSC 9659
Bethesda, MD 20892-9659
Phone: (301) 594-7963
lprice@mail.nih.gov

Shobha Srinivasan, PhD
Health Disparities Research Coordinator
Division of Cancer Control Population Sciences
National Cancer Institute
6130 Executive Boulevard, Room 6126
Rockville, MD 20852
(301) 435-6614
shobha.srinivasan@nih.hhs.gov

Martina V. Taylor, MT (ASCP)
Senior Prevention Science Advisor
Office of the Director
Division of Cancer Control
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
6130 Executive Blvd (EPN), Room 2040, MSC 7309
Bethesda, MD 20892-7339
301-594-7032
martina.taylor@nih.gov

Della Brown White, PhD
Health Scientist Administrator
Division of Special Populations;
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
6100 Executive Blvd., Suite 5E03;
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 435-2712
whitede@mail.nih.gov

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

Larke Nahme Huang, PhD
Senior Advisor on Children
Office of the Administrator
One Choke Cherry Drive,  Room 8-1051
Rockville, MD  20857
(240) 276-2014
larke.huang@samhsa.hhs.gov

Trina Dutta, MPP, MPH
Public Health Analyst
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Service Administration
1 Choke Cherry Drive, Room 6-1076
Rockville, MD 20857
(240) 276-1944
Trina.dutta@Samhsa.hhs.gov

Roslyn Holliday Moore
Office of Policy, Planning and Innovation
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
1 Choke Cherry Road, Room 8-1056
Rockville, MD 20857
(240) 276-1825
roslynholliday.moore@samhsa.hhs.gov

Center for Faith Based and Neighborhood Partnerships

Acacia Bamberg Salatti
Deputy Director
200 Independence Ave S.W.
Washington DC 20201
(202) 358-3595
Acacia.Salatti@hhs.gov

OS/Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation

Wilma Mishea Tilson, PhD, MPH
Senior Health Policy Analyst
Office of Health Policy
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 447D
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 205-8841
wilma.tilson@hhs.gov

OS/Office for Civil Rights

Kenneth D. Johnson, Esq.
Chief, Section 111
Civil Rights Division
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 515F
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 619-3437
kenneth.d.johnson@hhs.gov

OS/Office of the General Counsel

Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion

Yen Luong, RS, MPH
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-8277
yen.luong@psc.hhs.gov

Office of HIV/AIDS Policy

Christopher H. Bates, MPA
Executive Director
Presidential Advisory Council on HIV/AIDS
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 736E
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 690-5560
cbates@osophs.dhhs.gov

OS/Office of the National Coordinator

David Hunt, MD
Medical Director
Office of Provider Adoption Support, ONC
330 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 205-5105
davidr.hunt@hhs.gov

Office of Minority Health

Arlene Lester, DDS
Regional Minority Health Consultant
61 Forsyth Street, SW, Suite 5B-59
Atlanta, GA 30303-8909
(404) 532-7905 or 7888
arlene.lester@hhs.gov

Christine Montgomery
Management and Program Analyst
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-6176
christine.montgomery@hhs.gov

Minh Wendt, Ph.D.
Public Health Analyst
Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
1101 Wootton Pkwy, Suite 600
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-6160
minh.wendt@hhs.gov

Samuel Wu, Pharm. D
Public Health Advisor
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-6173
samuel.wu@hhs.gov


Tyler White, MPH
ORISE Research Fellow
Office of Minority Health
Office of the Secretary
1101 Wootton Pkw, Suite 600.
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-6193
tyler.white@hhs.gov

Office of Women's Health

Frances Ashe-Goins, RN, MPH
Deputy Director
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 712E
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 690-6373
frances.ashe-goins@hhs.gov

Adrienne M. Smith, PhD, MS, CHES
Public Health Advisor
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Room 728F
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 690-5884
adrienne.smith@hhs.gov




Content Last Modified: 12/05/2013 11:39:00 AM