Skip Navigation

Regional Health Equity Councils (RHECs) are independent, non-federal entities. The opinions contained on the RHEC websites are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent or express the position, views, or policies of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. References to specific organizations, companies, products, or services should not be considered an endorsement of such an entity, product, or service by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - Office of Minority HealthU.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Office of Minority Health

National Partnership for Action

Contact us Print Page
 

Federal Interagency Health Equity Team

FIHET logo

Federal leadership for the National Partnership for Action is provided by the Federal Interagency Health Equity Team (FIHET).

Vision

We envision a thriving America where all people have equitable access to resources and supportive environments to live healthy, purposeful lives.

Mission

We convene federal leaders to end health disparities by building capacity for equitable policies and programs, cultivating strategic partnerships, and sharing relevant models for action.

Goals

  1. Collaborate with diverse federal agencies to define linkages and implement coordinated approaches between their missions and health equity
  2. Identify, develop, and integrate strategies with measurable outcomes to advance health equity in/through federal policies, programs, and activities
  3. Leverage assets, influence, and experiences of federal agencies, partners, and communities to advance health equity
  4. Generate, facilitate, and translate research, data, and emerging knowledge about health equity into practice and policy
  5. Educate and mentor leader and peers to develop equity champions within all federal agencies

Federal Interagency Health Equity Team Members

NPA Webinar header - link to Webinar details

Federal Interagency Health Equity Team Members

Carol S. Jimenez, JD; FIHET Chair 
Deputy Director
Office of Minority Health 
Office of the Secretary
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600 
Rockville, MD 20852 
(240) 453-2882
carol.jimenez@hhs.gov

Carol B. Payne, RN, MSN; FIHET Co-chair
Field Office Director
Baltimore Office of HUD 
10 South Howard Street, 5th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 209-6573 
carol.b.payne@hud.gov


go to top

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

Nychelle (Nikki) Fleming 
Public Affairs Specialist 
Team Lead, Safe Sleep Outreach & Education 
4330 East West Highway, Suite 519
Bethesda, MD 20814 
(301) 504-7063 
nfleming@cpsc.gov


go to top

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Anika Patterson, JD, MPA 
Equal Employment Opportunity Specialist 
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights 
Whitten Building, 1400 Independence Avenue, Room 212-A
Washington, DC 20250-0115
(202) 306-1062 
anika.patterson@ascr.usda.gov

Bonita Williams, PhD 
National Program Leader, Division of Youth and 4-H 
National Institute of Food and Agriculture 
Waterfront Centre, 800 9th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20024
(202) 720-3566 
bwilliams@nifa.usda.gov


go to top

U.S. Department of Commerce

U.S. Census Bureau

Jennifer Cheeseman Day, PhD 
Assistant Division Chief 
Social, Economic and Housing Statistics Division 
1401 Constitution Avenue, NW 
Washington, DC 20233-8500 
(301) 763-3399 
jennifer.cheeseman.day@census.gov 


go to top

U.S. Department of Defense

Robert Carter, PhD, MPH 
LTC, U.S. Army 
Product Manager, Medical Simulation 
PEO STRI 
12350 Research Pkwy 
Orlando, FL 32826-3276 
(407) 384-3553 
robert.carter422.mil@mail.mil 

Wilbur W. Malloy, MA, MLS(ASCP)SBB 
Health Science Program Manager
Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine 
Telemedicine and Advanced Technology Research Center 
U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command 
Fort Detrick, MD 21702-5012 
(301) 619-8136 
wilbur.w.malloy.civ@mail.mil


go to top

U.S. Department of Education

James Deaton, PhD
Statistician
National Center for Education Statistics
Lyndon B. Johnson Building
400 Maryland, SW
Washington, DC 20202
(202) 245-7140
James.Deaton@ed.gov


go to top

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Administration for Community Living

Kristen Hudgins, PhD
Social Science Analyst, Office of Performance and Evaluation
Center for Policy and Evaluation
Mary E. Switzer Building
330 C Street, SW, RM 1229A
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 795-7732
kristen.hudgins@acl.hhs.gov

Lance Robertson
Assistant Secretary for Aging and Administrator
Mary E. Switzer Building
330 C Street, SW
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 401-4541
lance.robertson@acl.hhs.gov


go to top

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Cecilia Rivera Casale, PhD 
Senior Advisor for Minority Health 
5600 Fishers Lane, Room 06E85D 
Rockville, MD 20857 
(301) 427-1547 
cecilia.casale@ahrq.hhs.gov 

Camille Fabiyi, PhD, MPH 
Senior Advisor for Women’s Health and Gender Research 
Office of Extramural Research, Education and Priority Populations
5600 Fishers Lane, Room 06E81C 
Rockville, MD 20857 
(301) 427-1559
camille.fabiyi@ahrq.hhs.gov 

Kamila B. Mistry, PhD, MPH 
Senior Advisor 
Child Health and Quality Improvement
5600 Fishers Lane 
Rockville, MD 20857 
(301) 427-1012 
kamila.mistry@ahrq.hhs.gov


go to top

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Robert Hahn, PhD, MPH 
Coordinating Scientist
Community Guide Branch
Division of Public Health Information Dissemination
Center for Surveillance, Epidemiology, and Laboratory Services
1600 Clifton Road, NE, Mailstop E-69
Atlanta, GA 30333
(404) 498-0958
rah1@cdc.gov

Leandris C. Liburd, PhD, MPH 
Director 
Office of Minority Health and Health Equity
1600 Clifton Road, NE, Mailstop E-67
Atlanta, GA 30333
(770) 488-8343 
lel1@cdc.gov

Charles J. Rothwell, MBA, MS
Director
National Center for Health Statistics
3311 Toledo Road, Room 2630
Hyattsville, MD 20782
(301) 458-4468
cjr4@cdc.gov


go to top

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Cara V. James, PhD 
Director 
Office of Minority Health 
7500 Security Boulevard, S2-12-17 
Baltimore, MD 21244 
(410) 786-2773 
cara.james@cms.hhs.gov


go to top

Food and Drug Administration

CAPT Richardae Araojo
Assistant Commissioner for Minority Health
Director, Office of Minority Health
Office of Minority Health
White Oak Bldg 32
10903 New Hampshire Ave
Silver Spring, MD 20993-0002
(301) 796-1152
richardae.araojo@fda.hhs.gov

Martin Mendoza, PhD
Director, Extramural Research Program
Office of Minority Health
White Oak Bldg 32, Rm 2306
10903 New Hampshire Ave
Silver Spring, MD 20993-0002
Tel: (240) 402-9974
martin.mendoza@fda.hhs.gov


go to top

Health Resources and Services Administration

Makeda H. Clement, MS, MBA 
Federal Office of Rural Health Policy
5600 Fishers Lane, Room 17w41
Rockville, MD 20857
(301) 443-6977
mclement@hrsa.gov

Christine Ramey, MBA, BSN, RN 
Deputy Director
Office of Health Equity 
5600 Fishers Lane, MS 12-70
Rockville, MD 20857
(301) 443-3238
cramey@hrsa.gov


go to top

Indian Health Service

Wilbur Woodis 
Senior Policy Analyst for External Affairs 
Indian Health Service 
801 Thompson Avenue 
Rockville, MD 20852 
(301) 443-1676 
wilbur.woodis@ihs.gov


go to top

National Institutes of Health

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development

Regina Smith James, MD 
Medical Officer 
6100 Executive Boulevard, MSC 3902 
Bethesda, MD 20892 
(301) 435-2692 
rjames@mail.nih.gov

Charisee Lamar, PhD, MPH, RRT
Director of Health Equity 
Office of the Director
Office of Health Equity 
6710B Rockledge Drive, Room 2209B
Bethesda, MD 20892 
(301) 435-6977 
lamarc@mail.nih.gov

National Cancer Institute 

Martina Vogel Taylor, MT (ASCP) 
Senior Prevention Science Advisor 
Office of the Director 
Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences
9609 Medical Center Drive
Room 5E-430, MSC 9784, 
Bethesda, MD 20892-9784
(240) 276-7067 
vogelm@mail.nih.gov

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

LeShawndra Price, PhD
Chief of Health Inequities and Global Health Branch
Center for Translation Research and Implementation Science 
Rockledge I
6705 Rockledge Drive, Suite 6070, MSC 7960
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 451-0164 
leshawndra.price@nih.gov

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases 

Diane Adger-Johnson, MPH
Health Science Program Officer ;
Office of Research Training and Special Programs
Division of Extramural Activities 
5601 Fishers Lane, Room 4F37, MSC 9824
Bethesda, MD 20852
(240) 669-2924
dadger@niaid.nih.gov 

National Institute on Aging

Rosaly Correa-de-Araujo, MD, MSc, PhD 
Senior Scientific Advisor to the Director 
Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology 
7201 Wisconsin Avenue, Room 3C307
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-6762 
rosaly.correa-de-araujo@nih.gov

Carl V. Hill, PhD, MPH
Director 
Office of Special Populations
31 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-0765
hillcv@mail.nih.gov

National Institute of Mental Health

Andrea Horvath Marques, MD, MPH, PhD
Chief, Mental Health Disparities Research
Office for Research on Disparities & Global Mental Health
6001 Executive Blvd, Suite 7207
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 443-3945
andrea.horvathmarques@nih.gov

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities

Eliseo Perez-Stable, MD
Director
9000 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, Maryland 20892
(301) 496-7162
eliseo.perez-stable@nih.gov


go to top

Office for Civil Rights

Karmen Todd, JD 
Civil Rights Analyst
200 Independence Avenue, SW 
Washington, DC 20201 
(202) 774-3076 
karmen.todd@hhs.gov


go to top

Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion

Carter R. Blakey
Deputy Director
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100
Rockville, MD 20852
(240) 453-8254
carter.blakey@hhs.gov


go to top

Office of the General Counsel

JoAn Rochez
Senior Attorney
1600 Clifton Road, NE
Atlanta, GA 30333
(404) 639-7207
joan.rochez@hhs.gov


go to top

Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs

Ben O’Dell
Associate Director
Center for Faith-based and Neighborhood Partnerships
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 358-3597
ben.odell@hhs.gov


go to top

Office of Minority Health

Carol S. Jimenez
Deputy Director
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600
Rockville, MD  20852
(240) 453-2882
Carol.Jimenez@hhs.gov

Kelley Elliott
Division of Information and Education
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600
Rockville, MD  20852
(240) 453-2882
Kelley.Elliott@hhs.gov


go to top

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology

Sherilyn Pruitt 
Director
Office of Programs and Engagement 
200 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20201
(202) 774-2316
sherilyn.pruitt@hhs.gov 


go to top

Office on Women's Health

Adrienne M. Smith, PhD, MS, CHES 
Director, Division of Policy and Performance Management 
200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 728F 
Washington, DC 20201 
(202) 690-5884 
adrienne.smith@hhs.gov


go to top

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

Larke Nahme Huang, PhD 
Director
Office of Behavioral Health Equity 
5600 Fishers Lane Rockville 
Rockville, MD  20857 
(240) 276-2000 
larke.huang@samhsa.hhs.gov 

Roslyn Holliday Moore 
Senior Public Health Analyst
Office of Behavioral Health Equity
5600 Fishers Lane Rockville
Rockville, MD 20857
(240) 276-1825 
roslynholliday.moore@samhsa.hhs.gov


go to top

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

David Byrd
Senior Advisor
Office of the Secretary
451 7th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20410
(202) 402-5973
David.J.Byrd@hud.gov

Veronica E. Helms, PhD
Social Science Analyst
Office of Policy Development and Research
Program Monitoring and Research Division
451 7th Street, SW
Washington DC 20410
(202) 402-4194 
veronica.e.helms@hud.gov

Carol B. Payne, RN, MSN 
Field Office Director
Baltimore Office of HUD 
10 South Howard Street, 5th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 209-6573 
carol.b.payne@hud.gov


go to top

U.S. Department of Transportation

Danielle Nelson
Rural and Targeted Programs
Federal Transit Administration
East Building, E44-409
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE 
Washington, DC 20590 
(202) 366-2160
danielle.nelson@dot.gov


go to top

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Uchenna Uchendu, MD 
Chief Officer 
Office of Health Equity
Veterans Health Administration
810 Vermont Avenue, NW 
Washington, DC 20420
(202) 632-8470
uchenna.uchendu2@va.gov

Barbara Ward 
Director 
Center for Minority Veterans 
810 Vermont Avenue, NW 
Washington, DC 20420
(202) 461-6191
barbara.ward@va.gov


go to top

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Onyemaechi Nweke, DrPH, MPH
Senior Environmental Health Scientist
Office of Environmental Justice
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20460
(202) 566-2314
nweke.onyemaechi@epa.gov

Last Modified: 8/30/2018 9:29:00 PM